|The Rail Car Emporium is a gift shop located in an authentic 1905 Reading passenger coach that was made into a wreckmaster's car in 1929. Originally made by Harlan & Hollingswoth Corp. of Wilmington, DE, it was olive green outside. The highly varnished interior was typical of the day coaches with paneled inlay, gold leaf striping, stained glass clerestory windows that would open and brass ceiling lights. In September, 1929, the interior was modified into three sections; an office, a kitchen and 12 bunks with locker space. It was assigned to the Philadelphia Division of the Reading Railroad and stationed at the Erie Avenue (Philadelphia) engine house with the "wreck train" - engine, big hook, tool car and caboose.
Among the gift items included in the shop are Hometown Collectibles - local landmark buildings in miniature - hand-painted glass ornaments of local churches and other notable buildings, stoneware of all types, marble creations and coal products.
|For a unique